Level 4 Training

The Level 4 workshop is made up of two modules that The Makaton Charity recommends are delivered online in sessions of four hours each, and face to face in a full day of training.

Level 4 training completes the Core Vocabulary.

You will revise the signs and symbols you learned in your Level 1, 2 and 3 training, and learn the signs and symbols for Stages 7 and 8 of the Core Vocabulary.


For Level 4 training you should attend one of the following workshops:

  • Level 4 workshop
  • Follow-Up Workshop (Day 2)
  • Enhancement Workshop (Day 2)

It does not matter which workshop you attend as they cover the same content (Stages 7 & 8 of the Core Vocabulary).

Find Level 4 training

Entry criteria

Participants must have completed Level 3 training.

Study materials

For the Level 4 workshop you will receive a Participant’s Manual  which includes the Makaton symbols and signs that you learn in the workshop.

For all workshops you will be given a certificate of attendance. Please remember to keep your certificate in case you want to attend further Makaton training.

Next step

After completing Level 4 training, you may be interested in attending one of our specialist workshops.